Daisy Jones & The Six

Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid

Genre: Historical Fiction, Music

Format: Paperback

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“I used to think soul mates were two of the same. I used to think I was supposed to look for somebody that was like me. I don’t believe in soul mates anymore and I’m not looking for anything. But if I did believe in them, I’d believe your soul mate was somebody who had all the things you didn’t, that needed all the things you had. Not somebody who’s suffering from the same stuff you are.”

 

The main plot is centred around the reason why one of the most famous bands in the 70s “Daisy Jones & The Six” split. 

Admittedly I didn’t expect the oral history (interview format) of the story to work but it was precisely this storytelling method that brought out the intricacies of each character. I loved how everything weaved together beautifully in the end. It carried the thematic rock n’ roll vibes of the 70s and the songs were beautifully written and interpreted.

It’s so much more than an intense love story. One of its themes is about choosing faith over instincts or as Taylor beautifully put it “passion is…it’s fire. And fire is great, man. But we’re made of water. Water is how we keep living. Water is what we need to survive.”

Another quotable line is the interpretation of how art is recognized by the soul “When someone pins down something that feels like it lives inside us? Takes a piece of your heart out and shows it to you? It’s like they are introducing you to a part of yourself.”

I dove in not expecting to fall in love with another Taylor Jenkins story especially after ‘The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo’ but her profoundly humane characters left me with a swollen heart. 

On a side note, I can’t wait to listen to the highly recommended audiobook! 

 

Leave a comment